First Lines Friday

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

The dark shape of Highbury House was getting closer and closer. Justice told herself that she knew the place now – its turrets and spooky ramparts no longer had the power to scare her. But the school was a daunting sight in the twilight, looming up out of the flat marshland, birds – or possibly bats – circling the four towers.

Any ideas?

I loved Justice’s first murder mystery, and am really looking forward to delving into her next case.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Justice Jones, super-smart super-sleuth, is back for her second spine-tingling adventure! For fans of Robin Stevens, Katherine Woodfine and Enid Blyton.

When Justice returns for spring term at Highbury House, it’s not long before murder is back on her mind. Assigned to look after the elderly Mr Arthur in Smugglers’ Lodge on the other side of the marshes from school, Justice is initially dismayed. But dismay quickly gives way to intrigue as she finds herself drawn to Mr Arthur and his stories of piloting in the First World War – and especially when Dorothy, who lives nearby, tells her that the lodge is haunted.

But when Mr Arthur dies in mysterious circumstances, Justice soon has a list of questions in her journal: why hasn’t he been given a proper military funeral? Why does the new Matron not seem to know much about First Aid? And what secrets does Smugglers’ Lodge really hold?

Justice sets out to uncover the deadly truth in this brilliant follow-up to A Girl Called Justice.

Did you guess the book? Have you read this or A Girl Called Justice?

New feature: #MGTakesOnThursday

It will be my blogiversary on 11th April which also happens to be my wedding anniversary!  Six years of marriage, and one year of blogging! At least I’ll always remember my blogiversary although, on reflection, I do wonder why I started a blog on this date! I wanted some way of marking this occasion, so I’ve made a decision to be brave and introduce something new to my blog …

So, what have I decided to do?

I started my blog after re-igniting my love for reading, and the books I love are most definitely middle-grade.  I have been thinking for a while about what I’d like to do to celebrate both my blogiversary, and my love of middle-grade books, so I’m taking a chance on trying introducing something new … even if I’m the only one who takes part!

I’ve decided to start a weekly feature to celebrate and recommend middle-grade books.  It is called Middle-Grade Takes on Thursday and is, quite simply, a celebration of middle-grade children’s books. I’d love if others could take part in this feature!

How do I join in with #MGTakesOnThursday?

I hope this will be a straightforward and enjoyable feature to take part in, and that it brings some attention to some great middle-grade books. If you would like to use the banner I’ve created (through Canva), please feel free to use it.

The steps to take part are below.

  • Post a picture of the front cover of a middle-grade book which you have read and would recommend to others with details of the author, illustrator and publisher.
  • Open the book to page 11 and share your favourite sentence. 
  • Write three words to describe the book.
  • Either share why you would recommend this book, or link to your review.

I’d love if anyone who wants to give this a go would comment in the comments box and include a link to your post so I can visit, comment and find some great middle-grade recommendations. If you do create a post and are on Twitter, and would like to share your post, please use the hashtag #MGTakesOnThursday so I can find it, read it and share it!

Right, I’m going to road test this, and give it a go!

Author: Dominique Valente
Illustrator: Sarah Warburton
Publisher: Harper Collins

Favourite Sentence from Page 11:

Willow had answered a knock on the attic window only to find herself confronted by a rather grumpy oak tree with a face carved deep within its trunk.

This book in three words:

MAGICAL, ADVENTUROUS, HUMOROUS

Everyone, regardless of age, should treat themselves to this heart-warming, enchanting story filled with adventure, warmth and humour:  a treasure of a story that sparkles with a special kind of magic that captures and holds the reader under its spell! Read more in my review.

How did I do? Is this a feature you would like to take part in?

The Girl with the Shark’s Teeth

This is an enchanting story, full of adventure, danger and hidden secrets, waiting to be discovered.  But it is also a story of heritage, self-discovery and acceptance.

Minnow lives aboard The Seafarer (a stunning pirate boat with a mermaid figurehead) with her mother, Mercy, and faithful husky, Miyuki.  She is naturally drawn towards the water, and feels out of place and awkward on land. 

The story opens with the kidnapping of her mother by three men who believe that Mercy is the key to help them capture a mermaid.  Isn’t the existence of mermaids just part of old myths and folklore, so why are they adamant that her Mum can help them capture one?  What secrets has she been withholding from her daughter?

Left with strict instructions to go to her Grandmother in Iceland, Minnow travels there aboard The Seafarer where she meets Raife, who shares her love of the sea.  Minnow has no intention of staying safe at her Grandmother’s, but has every intention of rescuing her mother before it is too late.  Once at her Grandmother’s, Minnow makes a startling discovery.  Because of who she really is, she has the power to open the Gateway to the secret Wild Deep and venture across it in a desperate and urgent mission to free her mother. 

The world of the Wild Deep is exquisitely revealed, and creates a real sense of wonder and beauty, not only at the landscape but also at the dazzling seafolk of lore which Minnow and Raife find there.  They are both beautiful and dangerous, with some prepared to help and others to hinder.   They emit a real sense of threat and menace which creates plenty of action and tension as the children try to outwit and escape from them as they struggle to cross this new world.  Will the Deep release Minnow to allow her to attempt to rescue her mother?  Will there be a price to pay?  Will Minnow be imprisoned there, unable to leave, or will she be free to travel in both worlds?

Minnow is a strong, courageous, quick-witted girl who is willing to face her fears, fight for survival in dangerous situations and make difficult decisions to protect her friends.  She builds a close bond with Raife as they come to trust, rely on and protect each other.  She is a girl of two worlds who is resolved to fit into both, with all the determination, strength and courage that this demands.

A fascinating read for children of 8+.